Food Policy Council Applications are still open! Please see below for current vacancies. 

The Chatham-Kent Food Policy Council is looking for volunteers from staff of community organizations and community members who have an interest in any sector of Chatham-Kent’s food system and would like to be a part of this council. The Chatham-Kent Food Policy Council is an official group under the Board of Health for the Chatham-Kent Public Health Unit.


  • Member lives or works in, or serves the Municipality of Chatham-Kent and is 18 years of age or older
  • If you are a staff member of a community organization and believe one of your clients would be interested in the council, please forward this opportunity to them.
  • If you were previously on the council and are still interested in being involved, please follow the same application process.
  • The council will meet a minimum of five times per year.

We are recruiting representatives for the following positions:

  • Emergency Food Providers
  • Youth and Immigration
  • Education
  • Grocer/Restaurant/Food Processing/Food Distribution/Institutional Purchasing
  • General Community Members

If you feel that your organization/sector is not represented in the above list but plays an important role in the food system, please contact us and we can consider your involvement.

Application Process:

If you would like more information, please email

Staff Support

Sharmini Balakrishnan, Public Health Nutritionist – Chatham-Kent Public Health Unit